While you’re editing, you can move images to the trash directly from within Luminar Neo. This makes it easy to organize your hard drive and reduce clutter. However, as a protective measure, Luminar Neo requires three steps in order to permanently delete an image.

Deleting a File in Luminar Neo

To delete one image or multiple images in Luminar Neo, select one or several images in the Catalog, right-click on the image(s), and choose Move to Luminar Trash from the pop-up menu. Alternatively, you can press Cmd+Delete (macOS) or Ctrl+Delete (Windows). The selected images will be hidden current folder Luminar Neo and placed into the Trash shortcut.

The Trash shortcut in Luminar Neo is a staging area. When files are in the Trash shortcut, they are still on your hard drive in the same place they had been. Click on the Trash shortcut to see additional controls.

Restoring Files from the Trash

When images are in the Trash shortcut, they are still on your hard drive and can easily be restored to their original location in your Catalog.

To restore images from the Trash:
Select the image(s) you want to restore.
Choose Image > Put Back to restore the image(s) in your Catalog, or right-click on the image (or one of the selected images) and choose Put Back.

Emptying the Trash in Luminar Neo

To permanently remove an image from the Luminar Neo Catalog:

  • All references to the image in its folder are removed from Luminar Neo
  • All edits are removed (be sure to export a new file to your hard drive if you want to save these first)
  • Any references of the image are removed from Albums

There are two ways to empty the Trash in Luminar Neo.

  • Right-click on a single image or on one of the multiple selected images and select Delete from the pop-up menu.
  • Click the Empty Trash button at the top of the Catalog window.

This will send all images in the Trash shortcut in Luminar Neo to your operating system’s Trash (macOS) or Recycle Bin (Windows).

At this point, your files are not yet deleted from your hard drive. Luminar Neo has only moved your files to the operating system’s Trash (macOS) or Recycle Bin (Windows). You can still open the Trash/Recycle Bin on your computer and retrieve the files. To permanently delete the files, empty the Trash or Recycle Bin.

Emptying the Trash/Recycle Bin

To permanently delete images from your hard drive, you need to empty the Trash (macOS) or Recycle Bin (Windows) on your computer. This must be done at the operating system level.

  • macOS. Choose Finder > Empty Trash…
  • Windows. Find the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop, then right-click it and choose Empty Recycle Bin.

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.
Skylum Customer Service

Post Comment