At any point of editing, you can throw away images directly from within Luminar. This makes it easy to organize your hard drive and reduce clutter. However, as a protective measure, Luminar will take three steps before they are permanently deleted.

Deleting a File in Luminar

To delete an image or multiple images in Luminar select them and then right-click and choose Move to Trash from the drop-down menu. Alternatively, you can press Cmd+Delete on a Mac or Ctrl+Delete on a PC.  The images are removed from their current folder and placed into the Luminar trash.


This trash is just a staging area, the files are still on your hard drive in the same place on your drive.  If you look in the Shortcuts area of the Library panel you’ll see a new shortcut for Trash. Please note, if there are no files in the trash, the shortcut is hidden.  Click on the Trash shortcut to see additional controls.

Restoring a File from the Trash

When an Image is in Luminar’s Trash, it’s still on your hard drive.  You can restore it to its original location and your Library.


  1. Select the image(s) that you want to restore.
  2. Choose Image > Put Back to restore to your Library (the same command is also available by right-clicking on the image).

Emptying Luminar’s Trash

If you decide that you want to permanently remove an image from the Luminar Library you can.

  • All references to the image in its folder are removed
  • All edits are removed (be sure to export a new file to disk if you want to save these first)
  • Any references of the image in albums are removed

To empty Luminar Trash, you have two options.


  • You can right click on a single or select multiple images, and select Delete Forever from the popup menu.  
  • Click the Empty Trash button at the top of the window. This will get rid of all images in the trash.

Your files are not yet deleted from disk.  Luminar has only moved your images into the Operating System Trash or Recycle Bin. You can still open the Trash/Recycle Bin on your computer and retrieve the files. To permanently free up disk space, be sure to empty the trash.

Emptying the System Trash/Recycle Bin

To truly delete the images from your hard drive you would need to empty the System Trash on your computer.  You do this at the Operating System level.

  • macOS.  Finder > Empty Trash…
  • Windows. Find the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop and then right click and choose Empty Recycle Bin

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.
For customer support, please contact us here.

Post Comment