Taking the time to delete images in your Luminar library is a way to clean up your hard drives and free up storage space. Remember that deleting files from within folders in Luminar will also delete them from your hard drive. However, there are checks in place to keep you from accidentally deleting your original media. It takes three steps, with warnings along the way to delete media permanently from your hard drive when using Luminar.

Marking a File as a Reject

A useful way to queue a file for deletion is to reject it.  This is the first step in archiving or deleting unwanted images.  Just press the X key to mark a file as rejected (press U to unmark the file if needed). When you mark an image as a reject, it becomes greyed out in Luminar.

Safely removing Rejected files from your library

Luminar makes it easy to see and manage rejected files.  This way you are only working with the files you want to remove.

  1. If necessary, open the Library panel by clicking Library in the Top toolbar.
  2. Using the shortcut controls, choose All Photos.  Alternatively, you can also select a folder, album, or saved shortcut to view just a portion of your photo library.
  3. At the top of the image gallery, in the Gallery View, locate the drop-down menu labeled Showing:
  4. From the list, choose to only show Rejected images.

    Now you will be showing only the images you marked as Rejected.  You can now move all of these images into their own master folder. 

If you need to create a new master folder click the add folder button or from the main menu choose File > Add Folder with Images.  You can create a new folder on your hard drive by selecting the New Folder button on the lower left corner of the dialogue box.  


All of the rejected images have now been moved into the new master folder (in both Luminar and on your hard drive). If you want to remove them from your catalog, but not your hard drive, right click on the Rejected folder and select Remove From Catalog from the drop-down menu.  The images will be removed from your catalog, but the source folder and the original files will remain on your disk.

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment